Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation
Menu
navigation-end

School term dates 2023–24

​School term dates for Lewisham schools in the year 2023–24

Autumn term  

  • Monday 4 September to Friday 20 October (35 days)

  • Half term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October

  • Monday 30 October to Wednesday 20 December (38 days)

Spring term

  • Monday 8 January to Friday 9 February (25 days)

  • Half term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February

  • Monday 19 February to Thursday 28 March (29 days)

Summer term

  • Monday 15 April to Friday 24 May (29 days) (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 6 May)

  • Half term: Monday 27 May to Friday 31 May

  • Monday 3 June to Thursday 25 July (39 days) (the spring bank holiday will be taken on 27 May)

Total: 195 

In 2023–24 children should attend school for 190 days (or 380 half sessions). Teachers must be available to work for 195 days during the academic year. 

Schools which close for local elections must extend a term or coincide the closure with an INSET day.

Public holidays 

  • Christmas Day: Monday 25 December 2023

  • Boxing Day: Tuesday 26 December 2023

  • New Year’s Day: Monday 1 January 2024

  • Good Friday: Friday 29 March 2024

  • Easter Monday: Monday 1 April 2024

  • Early May bank holiday: Monday 6 May 2024

  • Spring bank holiday: Monday 27 May 2024

  • Summer bank holiday: Monday 26 August 2024