Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation
Menu
navigation-end

School term dates 2022–23

​School term dates for Lewisham schools in the year 2022–23

Autumn term  

  • Thursday 1 September to Friday 21 October (37 days)

  • Half term: Monday 24 October to Friday 28 October

  • Monday 31 October to Friday 16 December (35 days)

Spring term

  • Tuesday 3 January to Friday 10 February (29 days)

  • Half term: Monday 13 February to Friday 17 February

  • Monday 20 February to Friday 31 March (30 days)

Summer term

  • Monday 17 April to Friday 26 May (29 days) (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 1 May)

  • Half term: Monday 29 May to Friday 2 June

  • Monday 5 June to Friday 21 July (35 days) (the spring bank holiday will be taken on 29 May)

Total: 195 

In 2022–23 children should attend school for 190 days (or 380 half sessions). Teachers must be available to work for 195 days during the academic year. 

Schools which close for local elections must extend a term or coincide the closure with an INSET day.

Public holidays 

  • Christmas Day: Sunday 25 December 2022 (Tuesday 27 December substitute day)

  • Boxing Day: Monday 26 December 2022

  • New Year’s Day: Sunday 1 January 2023 (Monday 2 January substitute day)

  • Good Friday: Friday 7 April 2023

  • Easter Monday: Monday 10 April 2023

  • Early May bank holiday: Monday 1 May 2023

  • Spring bank holiday: Monday 29 May 2023

  • Summer bank holiday: Monday 28 August 2023