Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation

New wards for Lewisham

Information about Lewisham's new wards.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England’s (LGBCE) conducted a review of Lewisham's wards in 2019. They published their final recommendations on 30 June 2020. The new wards came into effect in May 2022. 


The LGBCE recommended we have 54 councillors. This was the same number of councillors that Lewisham had already, so no change was required.

The recommendations also determined there would be 19 wards:

  • 16 wards with three councillors
  • three wards with two councillors.

The boundaries of two wards stayed the same, all others had to change.

You can view the full recommendations and detailed interactive maps on the LGBCE website.

You can see the complete recommendations below.

How did the LGBCE determine these new wards?

The LGBCE held a public consultation from June to September 2019, where residents and local parties were encouraged to submit their own proposals.

They published their initial proposals in December 2019 which were consulted on until March 2020.

You can see all the submissions from all stages on the LGBCE website.

You can also read why each submission was accepted or rejected.

When did the new wards come into effect?

The new wards came into effect on Thursday 5 May 2022 - which was the date of our last mayoral and local elections. All wards elected new councillors for the following 4 years.