Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation

Who is eligible for a Blue Badge?

​In order to receive a Blue Badge, you must meet certain criteria.

You are eligible for a Blue Badge if you:

  • have a permanent and substantial disability which means you are unable to walk or have considerable difficulty walking

  • receive the higher rate of the mobility component of the Disability Living Allowance (DLA), or currently have eight or more points for the moving around element of Personal Independence Payment (PIP)

  • are registered blind

  • receive a war pensioners’ mobility supplement

  • have received a qualifying level of compensation under the Armed Forces and Reserve Forces compensation scheme and have been assessed by the Service Personnel & Veterans Agency as having a permanent and substantial disability which causes inability to walk or very considerable difficulty in walking

  • need to drive a car regularly but have a severe disability in both arms and are unable to operate all or some types of parking meters

  • have a child under the age of three who has a condition which means they must be accompanied by bulky medical equipment* that cannot be carried around without great difficulty.

*Bulky medical equipment includes:

  • ventilators

  • section pumps

  • feed pumps

  • parenteral equipment

  • syringe drivers

  • oxygen administration equipment

  • continual oxygen saturation monitoring equipment

  • casts and associated medical equipment for the correction of hip dysplasia.

If you meet any of the above criteria, you can apply for a Blue Badge.

If you require any further information about Blue Badge eligibility, please complete and submit an enquiry form.