Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation

New political map for Lewisham Council

Lewisham is set to have new boundaries for its council wards.

The Local Government Boundary Commission is the independent body that draws these boundaries. It has reviewed Lewisham to make sure councillors will represent about the same number of electors, and that ward arrangements will help the council work effectively.

The Commission has published final recommendations for changes in Lewisham. It says residents should be represented by 54 councillors. This is the same as current arrangements.

There will be 16 three-councillor wards and three two-councillor wards. All wards will change, apart from Forest Hill and Telegraph Hill.

Publishing the recommendations Professor Colin Mellors, Chair of the Commission, said:

“We are very grateful to people in Lewisham. We looked at all the views they gave us. They helped us improve our earlier proposals.

“We believe the new arrangements will guarantee electoral fairness while maintaining local ties.”

448 representations were made by people and organisations to help decide the new wards. Changes in response to what local people said include:

The proposed New Cross ward will now be called ‘Deptford’.

Tanners Hill Estate will now be united in a single ward.

The Commission has made further changes to its earlier proposals.

You can find out more about the review and read the full recommendations on the Local Government Boundary Commission's website.

Parliament now needs to agree the changes. The new arrangements will then apply for the 2022 council elections.

Continue reading...

International Migrants' Day: Cerelia's story
Catford Constitutional Club to close on 23 August