Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation

New Cycle Superhighway through Deptford approved

We have given approval for a new Cycle Superhighway passing along Evelyn Street in Deptford.

The new Cycle Superhighway (CS4) will link Tower Bridge and Greenwich after it was given the go ahead by the Mayor and Cabinet on 5 June. These plans were overwhelmingly backed by the public with 83% of respondents backing the public consultation. Work is expected to begin in the autumn.

We have been working closely with Transport for London on plans for the new route. As well as providing world-class facilities for cyclists, the scheme will improve pedestrian facilities and public spaces in the north of the borough. The plan includes:

  • a two-way segregated cycle track on Evelyn Street
  • new and improved public spaces on Deptford High Street including new paving and trees
  • new traffic restrictions including banned turns on some side roads along Deptford High Street
  • changes to some bus stop layouts and locations, including new bus stop bypasses for cyclists.

Councillor Brenda Dacres, Cabinet Member for Environment and Transport, said, ‘We have declared a climate emergency, and we are working hard to make the borough greener for all our residents. We must encourage people to ditch their cars and pick up their bikes. Cycle Superhighways create a much safer, and cleaner, environment for cyclists and pedestrians.

‘CS4 will transform cycling infrastructure in Deptford by creating a clearer and safer route for cycling. This will be complemented with new pedestrian crossings and improved public spaces, bringing benefits to pedestrians too. As well as improving air quality and reducing greenhouse gas emissions, active travel such as walking and cycling has positive impacts for people’s physical health and wellbeing. CS4 will make Deptford a more pleasant place to live, work and shop.’

Continue reading...

Statement regarding London Borough of Culture
Pledge to deliver lasting social change as Lewisham named London Borough of Culture 2021