Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation
Menu
navigation-end

School term dates 2019–20

​School term dates for Lewisham schools in the year 2019–20.

Autumn term  

  • Monday 2 September to Friday 18 October (35 days)

  • Half term: Monday 21 October to Friday 25 October

  • Monday 28 October to Thursday 19 December (39 days) 

Spring term

  • Monday 6 January to Friday 14 February (30 days)

  • Half term: Monday 17 February to Friday 21 February

  • Monday 24 February to Friday 3 April (30 days)

Summer term

  • Monday 20 April to Friday 22 May (24 days) (the early May bank holiday will be taken on 8 May)
  • Half term: Monday 25 May to Friday 29 May
  • Monday 1 June to Tuesday 21 July (37 days)

Total: 195

In 2019–20 children should attend school for 190 days (or 380 half sessions). Teachers must be available to work for 195 days during the academic year. 

Schools which close for local elections must extend a term or coincide the closure with an INSET day.

Public holidays 

  • Christmas Day: Wednesday 25 December 2019

  • Boxing Day: Thursday 26 December 2019

  • New Year’s Day: Wednesday 1 January 2020

  • Good Friday: Friday 10 April 2020

  • Easter Monday: Monday 13 April 2020

  • Early May bank holiday: Friday 8 May 2020

  • Spring bank holiday: Monday 25 May 2020

  • Summer bank holiday: Monday 24 August 2020