Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation
Menu
navigation-end

School term dates 2017–18

School term dates for Lewisham schools in the year 2017–18.

Autumn term

  • Monday 4 September to Friday 20 October (35 days)

  • Half term: Monday 23 October to Friday 27 October
  • Monday 30 October to Wednesday 20 December (38 days)

Spring term

  • Tuesday 2 January to Friday 9 February (29 days)
  • Half term: Monday 12 February to Friday 16 February
  • Monday 19 February to Thursday 29 March (29 days)

Summer term

  • Monday 16 April to Friday 25 May (29 days) (May Day is on 7 May)
  • Half term: Monday 28 May to Friday 1 June
  • Monday 4 June to Friday 20 July (35 days)

Total: 195

In 2017/18 children should attend school for 190 days (or 380 half sessions). Teachers must be available to work for 195 days during the academic year.

Schools which close for local elections must extend a term or coincide the closure with an INSET day.

Public holidays

  • Christmas Day: Monday 25 December 2017
  • Boxing Day: Tuesday 26 December 2017
  • New Year’s Day: Monday 1 January 2018
  • Good Friday: Friday 30 March 2018
  • Easter Monday: Monday 2 April 2018
  • May Day: Monday 7 May 2018
  • Spring Holiday: Monday 28 May 2018
  • Summer Holiday: Monday 27 August 2018.