Lewisham Council Homepage Skip navigation

New Cross local election results 2006

A local election happened on 4 May 2006. These are the results for New Cross ward.

I, Barry Quirk, being the Returning Officer at the above election, do hereby give notice that the number of votes recorded for each candidate at the said election is as follows:

Name of
(if any)
Number of votes
DEGEN, Heidi Liberal Democrat 222
GREEN, Sylvia Dorothy The Green Party Candidate 344
HAWKINS, Julian Liberal Democrat 205
HAWKINS, Linda Liberal Democrat 214
LONG, Madeliene Marie The Labour Party Candidate 941 Elected
MASLIN, Paul Jeremy The Labour Party Candidate 849 Elected
PADMORE, Stephen The Labour Party Candidate 1,016 Elected
PIERCE, Darren John The Conservative Party Candidate 219
POWELL, Ann-Marie Independent 397
RAE, Alexandra Ethel The Green Party Candidate 247
RAYMOND, Barbara Independent 423
STIMSON, Deborah Elaine The Green Party Candidate 253
WELLARD, Deborah Ann The Conservative Party Candidate 190
WOOLFORD, Raymond Independent 439
WRIGHT, James Macer The Conservative Party Candidate 178

The number of ballot papers rejected was as follows: Number of
ballot papers
A – want of an official mark
B – voting for more candidates than voter was entitled to 23
C – writing or mark by which voter could be identified
D – being unmarked or wholly void for uncertainty 33
E – rejected in part
Total 56
Vacant seats: 3 Electorate: 10,042 Ballot papers issued: 2,314 Turnout: 23.04%